DDSC 50th Anniversary

September 2010



In September 2010 the Darling Downs Soaring Club celebrated its 50th anniversary.


The Club's website describes the formation of DDSC as follows ... 


"In 1959 Max Howland from Kingaroy, in an Australian designed Kookaburra two seat glider, landed at Oakey Airfield. He got a tow out and eventually outlanded in Lindsay Richards' paddock. Lindsay Richards then organised a group of people, including Dennis McCaffrey, Rex Teakle, Jim Wetherspoon, John Bell and Peter Walker and formed the Darling Downs Soaring Club in 1960".


The following link is to a copy (in PDF format) of the speech delivered by Lindsay Richards at the DDSC 50th Anniversary Celebrations ... 


> Lindsay Richards' Speech 


 > Return to "Gliding Queensland -  HISTORY"